Shrimp Tacos with Mango Salsa

shrimptacos

At the request of a few of my darling friends, I am going to start blogging more often again! It will also be easier now that work is slowing down and summer is arriving!

Tonight was the first night we grilled and ate on the deck! What better way to kick off the grilling season than with shrimp tacos?! Last summer I made these shrimp tacos with peach salsa. They were delicious, but for some reason I was craving mango! So I decided to switch it up a little bit, and this is what I came up with:

For the Shrimp:

– 1/2 lb. shrimp (I bought the frozen kind because they were on sale and I had a coupon; I prefer the smaller ones on tacos as opposed to the jumbo shrimp called for in the recipe)

– 1 tsp. Old Bay seasoning

– 1 tsp. garlic salt

– 1/4 tsp. pepper

– 1 Tbsp. lime juice

For the mango salsa:

– 2 mangos, diced

– 1/2 small onion, diced (I used a yellow onion because it was all I had. I would definitely use a red onion next time)

– 1 tomato, diced

– 1 1/2 avocado, diced

– 1 Tbsp. fresh cilantro

– 1 Tbsp. lemon juice

– Salt & pepper to taste

First I diced the mangos, avocados, and all the other salsa ingredients and mixed them together in a bowl. I put the bowl in the fridge while I prepared the shrimp. I tossed the shrimp with the seasonings and lime juice. Conor cooked the shrimp on the grill on medium heat in a vegetable grilling basket. (I find that to be way easier than putting them on skewers.) We grilled the shrimp for about 3 minutes, turned, and then again on the other side for another 2 minutes. When the shrimp were almost done, we set the tortillas on the grill for about 2 minutes to warm up. Mmm love me some warm tortillas! After that we just put a few shrimp and a couple spoonfuls of salsa on the tortilla and ate up! Mmm soo good! Will def be making this again!

Leave a Reply

